Nobel Prize laureates 2010 announced

Nobel Prize laureates 2010 announced

On October 4th, the 2010 Nobel Prize was official started with the announcement of the Nobel Prize in Medicine and ended with the prize in economics. It can be seen that the 2010 Nobel Prize Award Ceremony was one of the previous week’s biggest events. Let’s discover this year’s Nobel Prize laureates below.


The 2010 Nobel Prize in Medicine belongs to Robert Edwards for his pioneering work on in-vitro fertilization. He is a British biologist as well as pioneer in reproductive biology and medicine and in-vitro fertilization. Louise Brown wearing green blouse is the first one to be born by the birth of the test-tube baby. It was reported that more than 4 million “test tube babies” have been given birth to with the achievement of Edwards’ invention.


Robert Edwards along with Leslie Brown, her daughter Louise and grandson Cameron



The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Richard F. Heck from the United States and two chemists from Japan, Akira Suzuki and Ei-ichi Negishi for their work in palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis on October 6th, 2010.


Ei-ichi Negishi is best known for his discovery of the Negishi coupling


Richard F. Heck is noted for the discovery and development of the Heck reaction, which uses the metal palladium to catalyze organic chemical reactions


Akira Suzuki is the first to publish the Suzuki reaction


Three economists shared this year’s Nobel Prize in economics for their analysis of markets with search frictions . They are Peter Diamond from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Christopher Pissarides from the London School of Economics and Dale Mortensen from Northwestern University.


Christopher Pissarides, aged 71, currently holds the Norman Sosnow Chair in Economics at the London School of Economics


Peter Diamond is an Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Dale T. Mortensen is especially known for his pioneering work on the search and matching theory of frictional unemployment.


The Nobel Prize in Physics went to Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov for their discovery of graphene. Graphene has unique physical and chemical characteristics making it essential in various spheres. Both of them were born in Russia and are living in Britain. At the award ceremony in Stockholm on December 10th, two scientists will receive 10 million Swedish crowns which is equivalent to about a million euros.


Konstantin Novoselov, aged 36, is the youngest Russian to win a Nobel Prize


Ten years ago, Andre Geim won a Shnobel Award for his experiments on the magnetic levitation of frogs


The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual\’s resistance, revolt, and defeat”


This year’s Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Chinese human rights activist Liu Xiaobo for his “long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China.”



Related links:

The Nobel Prize

Who will win the Fields Medal 2010?

Fields Medalists 2010 Announced

I am 25 years old, and I study materials on education, likes reading and writing. In free time, I often join literature clubs and share my interest with others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *