Remarkable Nobel Peace Prize?s Winners

Remarkable Nobel Peace Prize?s Winners

The Nobel Peace Prize is one of five Nobel Prize founded by Alfred Nobel – a Swedish industrialist. Since its first debut, the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to 121 Nobel Laureates in 91 times. Theoretically speaking, the Nobel Peace winners must obtain “the most or the best work for fraternity between nations”, and reduce standing armies. Despite the death of Nobel in 1896, the prizes are continuously awarded by a committee of five people chosen by the Norwegian Parliament.

The first Nobel Peace Prize was jointly rewarded to Henry Dunant and Frédéric Passy in 1901. The latest one was awarded to imprisoned democracy campaigner Liu Xiaobo. The list below demonstrates notable winners of the Nobel Peace Prize among 121 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2010.


Henry Dunant – 1901

Henry Dunant is a Swiss philosopher and the founder of the International Red Cross. He received the first Nobel Peace Prize in 1901 for humanitarian work and peace movement.


Martin Luther King – 1964

Martin Luther King – U.S clergyman and leader of “Southern Christian Leadership Conference” – was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize when he was at the age of thirty-five. The youngest male recipient of the award then announced that he would turn over $ 54,123 to the furtherance of the civil rights movement.


Mother Teresa – 1979

Indian Mother Teresa was the leader of Missionaries of Charity, Calcutta. She received the Nobel Peace Prize on her humanitarian work.


Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev – 1990

The Nobel Peace Prize 1990 was awarded to president of USSR Mikhail Gorbachev for his “leading role in the peace process which today characterises important parts of the international community”.


President Nelson Mandela and President Frederik de Klerk – 1993

Nelson Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk were jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 1993. They together promoted “peaceful termination of the apartheid regime” and laid “foundations for a new democratic South Africa


Former US president Jimmy Carter – 2002

Former U.S president Jimmy Carter received the prize in 2002 in the Oslo City Hall. He has been working hard to “find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, promote economic and social development and advance democracy and human rights”


Kenyan ecologist Wangari Maathai – 2004

Kenyan ecologist Wangari Maathai won the Nobel Peace Prize “for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace”


Mohamed ElBaradei – 2005

Director General of International Atomic Energy Agency shares his Nobel Prize with Mohamed ElBaradei for their work on reducing the use and danger of nuclear energy.


Rajendra Pachauri and Al Gore – 2007

Nobel Peace Prize 2007 was jointly awarded to the former U.S vice president and the UN\’s top climate pane. Their efforts notably help to combat global warming.


Martti Ahtisaari – 2008

Martti Ahtisaari, the former Finnish president, received gold medal in 2008 for his resolutions international conflicts over three decades.


Barack Obama – 2009

The 44th President of America was awarded Nobel Peace Prize 2009 for his work to strengthen international diplomacy and co-operate peoples all over the globe.



Related links:

Powerful Women and Headscarves

Impressive Weekly News in Picture (Dec 6)

World’s Disasters in 2010 Through Pictures

I am the fan of news on society and culture. I am currently the lecturer in social major. In free time, I am fond of reading articles and joining social activities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *